Scratching my way through the world

Scratchmap Journey documents my travels around the world. My aim is to scratch off as much of my scratch map as I can! Obviously there are a lot more places to go!


I’ll be sharing my favourite and most interesting snaps from my travels. I’ll include settings and tips on how you can achieve similar results. Taking photos is just a side part to my travels, it’s not my sole focus. So I’ll also be sharing with you my favourite bars, restaurants and anything else useful about a city/country that I blog about.


Now I’m not a professional photographer, far from it actually. It is a hobby of mine that I like to think I’m quite good at, from an amateur perspective of course. I don’t get too hung up on the details and don’t spend half an hour at each location tinkering.

I also create photobooks from my travels, and I’ll share some of my tips on how you can really improve your photobooks too and take them to the next level. I have to give credit to Martin Vaughan, my wedding Photograhper actually, who gave me the inspiration to create my own photobooks, rather than using the predefined templates on printing websites.


I use a Nikon 1 J5 compact mirrorless camera, which is a little gem of a camera! It’s not the best camera in the world, but it does everything that I need it to do. I don’t need a DSLR, it’s just a matter of knowing what your camera is capable of and having an eye for a good shot.

You’ll also be pleased to know any settings and instructions I give will be in plain English so they’re easy to understand and follow. After all, getting great pictures to document your holiday is supposed to fun and not a chore!

3 thoughts on “Scratching my way through the world

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

